This is your complete and comprehensive guide for Taguig City's barangays and its history.

Comprising both the 28 original barangays and the recent addition of 10 EMBO barangays, Taguig's diverse and dynamic community reflects the city's remarkable growth and development.

In this guide, we elaborate the barangays that make Taguig a thriving city throughout the history.

Taguig and the 9 Original Barrios

The earliest record of Taguig and its 9 original barrios was in 1587. According to records, Taguig had nine barrios then namely:
  1. Bagumbayan
  2. Bambang
  3. Hagonoy
  4. Palingon
  5. Santa Ana
  6. Tipas
  7. Tuktukan
  8. Ususan
  9. Wawa

Taguig municipal hall

Santa Ana was then the municipal center of Taguig. Records show that Tipas had once petitioned to become an independent town but was denied by the Spanish government.

The Establishment of 18 Barangays in Taguig

In 1974, the political division of Taguig was changed to barangay in accordance with the implementation of the Integrated Reorganization Plan (IRP) in the Philippines when the country was under Martial Law.

Because of the IRP, it was divided into 18 barangays:
  1. Bagong Tanyag
  2. Bagumbayan
  3. Bambang
  4. Calzada
  5. Hagonoy
  6. Ibayo-Tipas
  7. Ligid-Tipas
  8. Lower Bicutan
  9. Maharlika
  10. Napindan
  11. Palingon
  12. Signal Village
  13. Sta. Ana
  14. Tuktukan
  15. Upper Bicutan
  16. Ususan
  17. Wawa
  18. Western Bicutan

Barangay Fort Bonifacio was soon added to his jurisdiction.

The Creation of Two Legislative Districts in Taguig

Taguig was separated from Rizal on November 7, 1975 by virtue of Presidential Decree No. 824, and was represented in the Interim Batasang Pambansa along with other Metropolitan Manila municipalities and cities as part of Region IV from 1978 to 1984.

Taguig, still a municipality then, was grouped with Muntinlupa and Pateros to form a single parliamentary district which returned one representative to the Regular Batasang Pambansa in 1984. The municipality was grouped with Pateros again to form one congressional district under the new Constitution proclaimed on February 11, 1987; it elected its member to the restored House of Representatives starting that same year.

The western area of Taguig, coterminous with the Second Councilor District of Taguig (for the purpose of electing municipal, now city, council members), was separated from the congressional district of Pateros–Taguig by virtue of Republic Act No. 8487, the law which converted Taguig into a highly urbanized city. Despite being enacted by Congress on February 11, 1998, the said law only took effect on December 8, 2004 after the Commission on Elections issued a resolution confirming that the affirmative votes for cityhood prevailed in the ballot recount. This new district elected its first separate representative in 2007.

Taguig City Hall

Taguig First District

Here are the barangays under Taguig-Pateros' 1st District:
  1. Bagumbayan
  2. Bambang
  3. Calzada
  4. Hagonoy
  5. Ibayo Tipas
  6. Ligid Tipas
  7. Lower Bicutan
  8. New Lower Bicutan (added in 2009)
  9. Napindan
  10. Palingon
  11. San Miguel (added in 2009)
  12. Santa Ana
  13. Tuktukan
  14. Ususan
  15. Wawa

The Philippine Coast Guard Base located in Brgy. New Lower Bicutan

In 2008, Lower Bicutan was divided into two, the other one to be known as Barangay New Lower Bicutan. Parts of Hagonoy became under the jurisdiction of a new barangay San Miguel.

Taguig Second District

'Here are the barangays under Taguig's 2nd  District:
    1. Central Bicutan (added in 2009)
    2. Central Signal Village (originally Barangay Signal Village, renamed in 2009)
    3. Fort Bonifacio
    4. Katuparan (added in 2009)
    5. Maharlika Village
    6. North Daang Hari (added in 2009)
    7. North Signal Village (added in 2009)
    8. Pinagsama (added in 2009)
    9. South Daang Hari (added in 2009)
    10. South Signal Village (added in 2009)
    11. Bagong Tanyag (renamed Tanyag in 2009)
    12. Upper Bicutan
    13. Western Bicutan

    The famous Bonifacio Global City or BGC is part of Brgy. Fort Bonifacio

    Signal Village was divided into four barangays, Central Signal Village (originating barangay), KatuparanNorth Signal Village, and South Signal Village in 2008.

    Bagong Tanyag was divided into three barangays, North Daang HariSouth Daang Hari, and Tanyag proper (originating barangay).

    Parts of Upper Bicutan became under the jurisdiction of a new barangay Central Bicutan.

    Western Bicutan was divided into three barangays, Fort BonifacioPinagsama and Western Bicutan (originating barangay).

    The 28 Taguig Barangays (Pre-EMBO)

    In December 2008, ten new barangays were created in the city after a successful plebiscite by virtue of City Ordinance Nos. 24–27, 57–61, 67–69, and 78, Series of 2008, making Taguig to be politically subdivided into 28 barangays.

    Here are the 28 barangays of Taguig in alphabetical order:

    The 10 Barangays Transferred from Makati to Taguig

    Here's the list of 10 barangays that are now under Taguig City's jurisdiction:
    1. Pembo
    2. Comembo
    3. Cembo
    4. East Rembo
    5. West Rembo
    6. South Cembo
    7. Pitogo
    8. Northside
    9. Southside
    10. Rizal

    After the decision of the Supreme Court on April 27, 2022 that the 2011 Pasig RTC ruling declares that the 729 ha (7.29 km2) Bonifacio Global City complex, the EMBO barangays named Pembo, Comembo, Cembo, South Cembo, West Rembo, East Rembo, and Pitogo, are now under the jurisdiction of the Taguig city government.

    Barangay Pembo as seen along C-5 Road

    In 2023, the Supreme Court has rejected the Makati City government's motion asking the high court to allow it to file a second motion for reconsideration over its territorial dispute with Taguig City.

    The 38 Barangays of Taguig (2023)

    Here are the 38 barangays of Taguig after the inclusion of EMBO barangays in alphabetical order:
    1. Bagumbayan
    2. Bambang
    3. Calzada
    4. Cembo
    5. Central Bicutan
    6. Central Signal Village
    7. Comembo
    8. East Rembo
    9. Fort Bonifacio
    10. Hagonoy
    11. Ibayo Tipas
    12. Katuparan
    13. Ligid Tipas
    14. Lower Bicutan
    15. Maharlika Village
    16. Napindan
    17. New Lower Bicutan
    18. North Daang Hari
    19. North Signal Village
    20. Northside
    21. Palingon
    22. Pembo
    23. Pinagsama
    24. Pitogo
    25. Rizal
    26. Miguel
    27. Santa Ana
    28. South Cembo
    29. South Daang Hari
    30. South Signal Village
    31. Southside
    32. Tanyag
    33. Tuktukan
    34. Upper Bicutan
    35. Ususan
    36. Wawa
    37. Western Bicutan
    38. West Rembo

    Recently, Google Maps have updated the map of Taguig including the newly added EMBO barangays.


    IMPORTANT NOTE: ang Taguigeño blog ay hindi konektado sa anumang account ng Taguig City government. Ito ay nabuo upang maghatid ng napapanahong balita at impormasyon para sa lahat ng Taguigeño.
    taguig venice, taguig history, taguig bgc, taguig city barangays, taguig city hall, taguig city map, taguig tourist spot, taguig city hall phone number

    Post a Comment