In a stunning display of skill and determination, the Taguig Generals emerged victorious over the KBA Luid Kapampangan, sweeping the best-of-five final series in the 2023 National Basketball League President's Cup.

The Generals secured their second consecutive championship on Friday, September 29, showcasing their resilience and prowess at the Jun Dueñas Gymnasium, Brgy. Central Signal, Taguig City.

Game three of the series witnessed an intense battle, with the Generals narrowly clinching an 88-87 victory despite a fierce comeback attempt by the Kapampangans, who rallied from a 25-point deficit. Mark Ordoñez led the Generals' charge with an impressive 19 points, backed by Edziel Galoy's 12-point contribution.

Jonathan Lontoc added 11 points to the scoreboard, while LJ Mayo showcased exceptional performance with nine points, a remarkable 13 rebounds, and three blocks.

In recognition of his outstanding performance throughout the series, Mike Sampurna, a pivotal player who contributed 11 crucial points in game three, was honored as the Finals MVP.

Sampurna scored a total of 48 points across three games, proving instrumental in the Generals' victory. Additionally, both Mike Sampurna and LJ Mayo were acknowledged as part of the tournament's Mythical 5.

The Generals' path to victory began with a triumph in the series opener on September 22, securing a commanding 92-74 win. They continued their dominance in game 2 on September 24, with a resounding victory of 108-90.

These victories marked Taguig's third championship, adding to their accolades from the 2019 Season Two and the 2022 Chairman’s Cup, all achieved under the expert guidance of Coach Bing Victoria.


IMPORTANT NOTE: ang Taguigeño blog ay hindi konektado sa anumang account ng Taguig City government. Ito ay nabuo upang maghatid ng napapanahong balita at impormasyon para sa lahat ng Taguigeño.
taguig venice, taguig history, taguig bgc, taguig city barangays, taguig city hall, taguig city map, taguig tourist spot, taguig city hall phone number

Post a Comment