Learn about the foundation and important details about Taguig City University.

About Taguig City University

TCU Logo since 2023
Taguig City University (TCU) is a Philippine local university. It was established in 2006 by the Sangguniang Bayan of the Municipal Government of Taguig.

Taguig City University in Details

Type: Municipal University
Entrance exam: Required
Religious affiliation: Non-sectarian
Term structure: Semester
School year: starts in August
Tuition Fees: The school has no tuition fee / no miscellaneous fee or any other fees. Students at TCU are covered by L.A.N.I. Scholarship - Taguig City's scholarship program.
  • Bachelor's degree - None
  • Master's degree - ₱ 600-7,200 per year

Address: Gen. Santos Ave., Central Bicutan, Taguig City

History of TCU

Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Taguig (PLT), later renamed Taguig City University (TCU) upon conversion of the Municipality of Taguig to "cityhood" on 8 December 2004, was established through Ordinance No. 29, Series of 2004 (enacted 6 September 2004, Municipal Government of Taguig, authored by Councilor Aurelio Paulo R. Bartolome with councilors Marisse Balina-Eron and Allan Paul C. Cruz as co-sponsors).

Motivated by the urgency of need to serve the youth of growing Taguig City, the Local Government Administration came up with Ordinance No. 29 Series of 2004 "An Ordinance Establishing the Pamantasan ng Taguig and Appropriating Funds Thereof." This was an offshoot of the provisions of the Local Government Code.

Pamantasan ng Taguig was renamed Taguig City University pursuant to City Ordinance No.13, Series of 2009.

TCU has gone through development problems — top billed by the very basic need to have enough buildings. For two years, despite its courage, the university hardly manifested physical eloquence. In S.Y. 2006–2007, it swiftly took off: The organization of the university and construction of the TCU main building commenced. Meanwhile, undergraduate classes were held in high schools and elementary campuses in Taguig, lent to the growing management of TCU.

Taguig City University main campus building with old blue color

TCU Logo since 2011
In 2006, General Ricardo Papa Sr. Memorial High School offered some rooms for free. In 2007, rooms expanded to Taguig Elementary School, Sta. Ana-District 1 and Em's Elementary School, Signal Village-District 2. In 2008-2009 additional undergraduate classes were held in annex school of General Ricardo Papa Sr. Memorial High School at Brgy. Ususan and Signal Village Elementary School (Annex).

Lack of classrooms did not deter the holding of graduate school classes. The graduate program in Master of Arts in Teaching major in Mathematics, Filipino, English and Social Sciences were lumped together as a common major. It paved the way to the development of the Master of Arts in Educational Management, while holding classes in a secluded and secured room at Sunshine Mall Taguig.
TCU Logo since 2019

TCU Today

At present, TCU has seven (7) colleges, namely:
  1. College of Arts and Sciences (CAS)
  2. College of Business Management (CBM)
  3. College of Criminal Justice (CCJ)
  4. College of Education (COE)
  5. College of Engineering and Technology (CET)
  6. College of Hospitality and Tourism Management (CHTM)
  7. College of Information and Communication Technology (CICT)

TCU also offers Graduate School (GS).

For the full list of academic programs (undergraduate and graduate), visit TCU courses.


IMPORTANT NOTE: ang Taguigeño blog ay hindi konektado sa anumang account ng Taguig City government. Ito ay nabuo upang maghatid ng napapanahong balita at impormasyon para sa lahat ng Taguigeño.
taguig venice, taguig history, taguig bgc, taguig city barangays, taguig city hall, taguig city map, taguig tourist spot, taguig city hall phone number

Post a Comment