Circumferential Road 5 (C-5), informally known as the C-5 Road, is a network of roads and bridges that all together form the fifth beltway of Metro Manila in the Philippines.

Spanning some 32.5 kilometers (20.2 mi), it connects the cities of Las Piñas, Makati, Parañaque, Pasay, Pasig, Quezon City, Taguig, and Valenzuela.

It runs parallel to the four other beltways around Metro Manila, and is also known for being the second most important transportation corridor after Circumferential Road 4.

The route is not yet complete to date, because of certain controversies regarding right of way, but portions of the route are already open for public use. On July 23, 2019, the two segments of the route has been connected together with the completion of the C-5 Southlink Expressway, through a 2.2-kilometer (1.4 mi) flyover over the Skyway and the SLEX in 2019.

C-5 lies parallel to other circumferential roads around Metro Manila, most notably EDSA of C-4, passing through the cities of Valenzuela, Quezon City, Pasig, Makati, Taguig, Pasay, Parañaque, and Las Piñas. The road is divided into several segments.

NLEX Harbor Link

Segment 8.1 (Mindanao Avenue Link) of the NLEX looking west towards Smart Connect Interchange.
From MacArthur Highway in Karuhatan, Valenzuela to Smart Connect Interchange, a cloverleaf interchange with the main line of the North Luzon Expressway (NLEX), C-5 is known as NLEX Karuhatan Link or NLEX Segment 9. It is also the first segment of the NLEX Harbor Link project, which connects the NLEX with Port of Manila.[7] The entire 2.4 kilometers (1.5 mi) toll road is designated as a part of C-5 Road.

From the Smart Connect Interchange to a 3-way signalized junction with Mindanao Avenue, C-5 is known as NLEX–Mindanao Avenue Link or NLEX Segment 8.1. The entire 2.7-kilometer (1.7 mi) toll road is designated as a part of C-5 Road.

Mindanao Avenue

At the eastern end of NLEX Segment 8.1, C-5 turns southeast and becomes Mindanao Avenue. It is a 10-lane divided carriageway that serves as the main transportation corridor of Barangays Talipapa and Tandang Sora in Quezon City. The 3.5 kilometers (2.2 mi) portion of this 6.7-kilometer (4.2 mi) road from NLEX Segment 8.1 to Congressional Avenue is designated as a portion of C-5.

Congressional Avenue

At the signaled junction with Mindanao Avenue, C-5 turns northeast as the Congressional Avenue, a six-lane divided carriageway that serves as the main east to west transportation corridor of Barangays Bahay Toro, Culiat, Pasong Tamo, and Tandang Sora in Quezon City. It then continues east for 3.9 kilometers (2.4 mi) up to Luzon Avenue.

Luzon Avenue

At the end of Congressional Avenue Extension, C-5 turns south as Luzon Avenue, a 4-lane divided city road between Barangays Culiat and Matandang Balara in Quezon City, for 850 meters (2,790 ft) up to Commonwealth Avenue. The 6-lane Luzon Avenue Flyover carries C-5 across Commonwealth Avenue to connect it with Tandang Sora Avenue.

Tandang Sora Avenue

Southeast of Commonwealth Avenue, C-5 is known as Tandang Sora Avenue. It runs for 1 kilometer (0.62 mi) from Barangay Matandang Balara, going around the University of the Philippines Diliman campus, up to the junction with Magsaysay Avenue.

The original planned route of C-5 included the entire 9.6-kilometer (6.0 mi) road; however, due to the incapacity of the road to carry a large amount of vehicular traffic, only the 1-kilometer (0.62 mi) portion of the road from the Luzon Avenue Flyover to Magsaysay Avenue was designated as a portion of C-5 Road. Furthermore, Tandang Sora Avenue becomes a six-lane divided carriageway shortly after crossing Capitol Hills Drive, 350 meters (1,150 ft) south of the flyover.

Katipunan Avenue

After crossing Magsaysay Avenue, C-5 turns south and becomes Katipunan Avenue, a ten-lane divided carriageway that serves as the main transportation corridor of Matandang Balara, Pansol, Loyola Heights, and Project 4 in Quezon City. It heads south for 4.8 kilometers (3.0 mi) until its junction with Bonny Serrano Avenue. Shortly before crossing Bonny Serrano Avenue, a 4-lane divided underpass descends from Katipunan Avenue and traverses underneath Col. Bonny Serrano Avenue and ascends into Libis Flyover, which immediately connects it to E. Rodriguez Jr. Avenue. There is also an access road to the east of Metro Manila via FVR Road in Marikina.

Colonel Bonny Serrano Avenue

C-5 passes through a section of Colonel Bonny Serrano Avenue, a four-lane undivided avenue, as a connecting corridor 500 meters (1,600 ft) from Katipunan Avenue to Eulogio Rodriguez Jr. Avenue. The Libis Tunnel and Libis Flyover traverse between the avenue's westbound and eastbound lanes.

Eulogio Rodriguez Jr. Avenue

At its junction with Bonny Serrano Avenue and FVR Road at the Libis Tunnel and Libis Flyover, C-5 then turns south as Eulogio Rodriguez Jr. Avenue, a 6.7-kilometer (4.2 mi), 10-lane divided road that serves as the main thoroughfare between Quezon City and Pasig. The road ends in a junction with Pasig Boulevard and continues onto C.P. Garcia Bridge that crosses the Pasig River and eventually becomes Carlos P. Garcia Avenue shortly afterwards. The avenue is named after Eulogio Rodriguez Jr., a former representative and governor of Rizal.

Carlos P. Garcia Avenue

Past the C.P. Garcia Bridge over the Pasig River, C-5 becomes Carlos P. Garcia Avenue. It is a 7.5 kilometres (4.7 mi), fourteen-lane divided road that serves as the main thoroughfare from Makati to Taguig. It passes through a small portion of Makati and continuously passing Taguig, where it then meets the exit ramps to the C-5 Southlink Expressway and the South Luzon Expressway, before ending at the intersection with East Service Road.

This is not to be mistaken with the legal name of the C-5 route.

C-5 Road Extension

Across the South Luzon Expressway, C-5 continues as C-5 Road Extension from West Service Road near Merville Exit of SLEX in Pasay. It traverses south of the Ninoy Aquino International Airport and enters Parañaque. In Barangay Santo Niño, C-5 is briefly known as Kaingin Road, passing by warehouses up to Multinational Avenue.

It then curves around Amvel City, crosses Dr. A. Santos Avenue and Diego Cera Avenue, and ends at its future exit with Manila–Cavite Expressway (CAVITEX) in Las Piñas. The future LRT Line 1 Extension will run along most of the Las Piñas segment of C-5 Road Extension.

West Valley Fault

Studies conducted by the PHIVOLCS revealed that a large portion of C-5 is built on top of the West Valley Fault. A map of the fault line released on May 18, 2015, shows C-5 in Taguig beside the fault line. The C-5 road is prone to liquefaction.

C-5 Expressway

NLEX Corporation (formerly Manila North Tollways Corporation) and CAVITEX Infrastructure Inc., submitted a proposal for C-5 Expressway, a 19-kilometer (12 mi) fully elevated expressway that would further decongest the existing C-5 and provide a fully controlled-access route between C-5 Southlink Expressway and NLEX Segment 8.2.

The proposed expressway would utilize portions of the existing C-5's right of way between SLEX and Pasig Boulevard, and run above Marikina River from Pasig Boulevard to Luzon Avenue.


IMPORTANT NOTE: ang Taguigeño blog ay hindi konektado sa anumang account ng Taguig City government. Ito ay nabuo upang maghatid ng napapanahong balita at impormasyon para sa lahat ng Taguigeño.


Click here to subscribe to our YouTube Channel.

taguig venice, taguig history, taguig bgc, taguig city barangays, taguig city hall, taguig city map, taguig tourist spot, taguig city hall phone number

Post a Comment

Previous Post Next Post